Undressed at the Victoria and Albert Museum

Since it was announced that the V&A were curating an exhibition on intimate apparel I have been patiently anticipating its launch. Once it was launched in patiently waited for a free period between my masters study to go and see it. Finally on Sunday I was able to make some time to go and see it and it was absolutely lovely,  I had hoped it would be as vast as the V&A Alexander McQueen Exhibition was when last year, but, I still enjoyed it very much and I highly recommend it.

The exhibition drew together some beautiful pieces from a range of eras, it explored form, function, aesthetics, perceptions and many other aspects of lingerie that are integral parts of not only it’s design, manufacture and use but also it’s very essence. It could be hypothesised that, in theory, lingerie is instilled with an “soul” of its own, not only,  through its design inspiration, material properties and use, but also, through its engagement with the world, the culture(s) it is exposed to and embedded with and possibly even the civic* of society itself. I feel the exhibition brings to light these various influences in an artistically pleasing, yet informative, fashion.

As I was not permitted to take photos of sketches (and I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone who is thinking of going) here is a picture of my book purchases.

image

I enjoy underwear not just for its aesthetics and structure but also for the social, psychological and civic* aspects that are intertwined within it in a holistic sense.So always endeavour to undated my lingerie focused book collections. I am looking forwarding reading these.

As I was not permitted to take photos of sketches (and I wouldn’t want to ruin it for anyone who is thinking of going) here is a picture of my book purchases.

I truly adore both the visual and contextual aspects of lingerie.


*Prasanth Kumar, J. and Bhaskara Rao, D. (2004). Methods of teaching civics. New Delhi: Discovery Pub. House.

Leave a Reply

